peachyteachy

For realsies

The Boogie Shoes Effect August 2, 2012

Perhaps you have heard about the preponderance of  Pachelbel’s Canon in D in popular music.  If not, the  Pacelbel Rant clip will indoctrinate you nicely. In short, Pachelbel’s Canon is basically in every song ever written.  Thank you in advance for clarifying this oversimplification.  I get it.

A lesser-known musical phenomenon revolves around one of the classic bands of the Seventies, KC and the Sunshine Band. You may recognize them for the wildly successful “That’s the Way I Like It,” or “(Shake, Shake, Shake) Shake Your Booty.”  It’s all coming back to you now.  But I am not here to talk about those songs.  I want to open your eyes to the genius of the rhythmic and musical compatibility of the lesser-known “Boogie Shoes.”  Through extensive trial and  error, I have determined that the refrain from “Boogie Shoes” can be musically superimposed  over virtually any pop song that is played on a car radio! Mind you, there are occasions where you will need to adjust it to a minor key in order to match a tune like Pearl Jam’s “Jeremy,” but, ultimately, when you plug it in there, it becomes a stunning piece of background (or foreground!) sound.   The  irony is unavoidable. “Jeremy spoke in class today.” Sing “class” at the same time you sing, “My, my, my, my, my.”

“I wanna put on

My, my, my, my, my boogie shoes

And boogie witchoo!”

Try it! In the Rolling Stones’ “Sympathy for the Devil,” it combines perfectly with the “Pleased to meet you. Hope you guessed my name,” portion!

Okay, calm down.  It’s a tough thing to demonstrate with the written word.  You have to get all interactive, preferably when no one is watching.  The possibilities are endless. Give it a shot, and before you know it, you will be humming “Boogie Shoes’ regardless of what tune you are listening to.

You’re welcome! I live to serve.

 

2 Responses to “The Boogie Shoes Effect”

  1. javaj240 Says:

    Thanks. You have now ruined music for me; one of the few pleasures I had left since giving up the crack.


Leave a Reply

