peachyteachy

For realsies

Searching for Prune Delicacies—and Finding Me September 13, 2012

source: librarything.com

It’s a special day.

Not because, when I checked the students’ homework, they demonstrated stellar understanding of the concept of area and perimeter. Not because of that, because that is not something that happened.

It’s not special because I scarfed my microscopic lunch so fast that there were three minutes left between the time I finished my sumptuous feast of cheese of the cottage, and the time that I was due to pick up my students at the coliseum  cafeteria, as objectively special as that occurrence was.

It’s not so uber-special due to a student’s construction on his desk of a mini hand sanitizer pyramid, which I immediately confiscated.  They were directed to purchase a damned full-size hand sanitizer, with the express purpose of putting ME in complete control of the freaking hand sanitizer, so that children would not spend their days bathing in it, cleaning their desks with it, and encasing eraser heads in it.  Do parents ever picture their children in possession of multiple, mini-containers of hand sanitizer? They might as well send Hot Wheels or lighters.  Because heaven forbid if there is a drop of goo missing! “Someone stole a drop of my hand sanitizer! I’m going to punch him in the face!” I do not exaggerate.  I heard it today. The honeymoon, as they say, is over.

This day of our Lord is so spanking special because, when I looked at the Search Engine Terms that led a poor, unsuspecting soul to some random blogpost of mine, I saw these words: “Jello Prune Whip.” Oh my Glob!! It made my day awesome when I Googled it myself, and found that there were only a few recipes ahead of my post. I know, I know—it’s a bit different for every searcher, but still.  I really barely ever experiment with these matters.

I pre-emptively apologize to my unknowing reader, who had to deal with my Throwing a Party-Gelatin Style post, and the glaring omission of the Prune Whip recipe.  I don’t generally post recipes for stuff whose names induce nausea for me, but know that I feel a little bit guilty about it.  And I love you for searching Jello Prune Whip.

 

9 Responses to “Searching for Prune Delicacies—and Finding Me”

  1. I can assure you, I did not google jello prune whip.

  2. WSW Says:

    Are you absolutely sure that Jello Prune Whip is not related to some kind of deviant sexual behavior? Twizzler handcuffs, gelatin brassieres and dried fruit in places other than your mouth…the possibilities are endless. Not that I’d know, but the interwebs are busting at the seams with some very strange stuff. 😉

  3. Deborah Says:

    I actually loved Prune Whip when my mom made it for us years ago. I’m not sure it had jello in it, though – it was creamy and sweet. Never suspected the true reason she made it for us until I was much older.

  4. Deborah Says:

    And I agree, the honeymoon is over (already) in my class, too!

  5. javaj240 Says:

    Hot Wheels and lighters for everyone!

    Here’s a possible science lesson (though you might think twice before actually describing it in your plan book): Ask the scholars to hypothesize about what would happen if a thin line of hand sanitizer was spread across the average desktop, a Hot Wheels was placed on one end, and the other end was set alight?

    Hmmmm? I might have to get me a Hot Wheels from the neighbor boy.

  6. javaj240 Says:

    You should read this: http://rossmurray1.wordpress.com/2012/09/14/weird/

    I thought of you as I was reading it. I think you would appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

