peachyteachy

For realsies

The Healing Power of Chocolate Crinkles December 19, 2012

Filed under: food,life,school,spirituality,teaching,Uncategorized — peachyteachy @ 6:59 pm
Tags:

I have attempted to start a post a few times over this past several days.  Things don’t feel cohesive, I can’t sum anything up, and I can’t launch into some foray into a topic that doesn’t embody the fact that I am a teacher in an elementary school, a mom of an eight-year-old (who has been sicker than a dog for over a week), and the partner of a man who lost a brother two days ago.

I have been trying to help my class to be good to each other; better to each other.  It’s not happening. I want us to have some kind of pleasant approach to the holiday season, especially since many of them do not have opulent celebrations at home.  It is rough when they are being nasty to one another, and to me.

It is a strange dichotomy to be contemplating where one would hide the students if faced with the presence of an intruder, while the students are threatening, harassing, bullying one another at every turn. It’s hard not to feel guilty when you love them, but often don’t like them a lot. We discussed the events in Newtown quite minimally, as I hoped to steer kids toward discussion with their families.  As a parent, I prefer to be the one who has the primary voice in such conversations.

On Monday, one of my kids mimed gun action in the hallway, complete with putting individuals in his sights (including me) before making sound effects. He claimed “video game.”

Sometimes, writing is therapeutic. Sometimes, baking is.  Tonight, I made some Chocolate Crinkles.  Peppermint MeltAways are on deck. I feel a little bit better. My kid went back to school today and doesn’t have a fever.  Grateful for that every moment. There is a sort-of-straight tree with lights on it in the living room.  Things are starting to feel connected.  I can’t categorize my post as “humor.”

Lately, hugs have been standing in for words around here.

 

14 Responses to “The Healing Power of Chocolate Crinkles”

  1. I hear ya. There’s a sense of un-real-ness to things. I don’t have a little one at home anymore but I am no less compassionate. BTW, can I have the recipe for those cookies? they look awesome.:)

  2. My parents were both teachers. Teachers are my heroes. It’s hard enough working in the classroom before any regular holiday season. I can’t imagine what it’s like right now. And yeah, those cookies look amazing. 🙂

  3. WSW Says:

    You’ve been on my mind since the news broke last week. How to explain such a thing to a bunch of kids? In a pinch cookies always help.

    btw, I actually ran a chocolate crinkles recipe a few months back. They’re a holiday classic. 😉

  4. rossmurray1 Says:

    I can only imagine the surreal week you’ve had — any teacher/parent has had for that matter. Peace.

  5. UndercoverL Says:

    Wow, Peachy. My heart goes out to you. Again, this falls on the shoulders of parents. Kids are a product of what they’ve been raised to be. {hugs}

  6. I LOVE chocolate crinkle cookies, but mine never turn out worth a darn. So, I will rephrase to say that I love chocolate crinkle cookies made by others….


Leave a Reply

