peachyteachy

For realsies

Angry Birds Star Wars Jenga: One Game, One Goal December 27, 2012

Is there any game/app/movie franchise that is not a part of this game? No! Is there any skill that isn’t tested by the gameplay involved here? Well, maybe one or two skills remain untested.  Cooking isn’t really tested well by this game, nor are the beloved needle arts, although my son did rename Darth Vader “Darth Tenderloin,” which I found endlessly amusing.  Suffice it to say that we were successful, not only in constructing the Death Star (which one must repeat whenever one has a burning desire to play Angry Birds Star Wars Jenga), but also in destroying the Death Star, which is no small feat when Han Solo is reduced to an irritated fowl with his hair parted in the middle.  If you want to find out more details about the game, I have included an annoying YouTube tutorial for your viewing pleasure above.

Such are the simple pleasures of a teacher’s life in the few days following Christmas.  I also took a ridiculously long nap, and shoveled a foot of snow (and by that I mean several cubic feet of snow).  More vacay fun: removed the rug from son’s room, where he had thrown up in the middle of the night. Yes, the festivities just keep on rolling.

Our ultra-faithful neighbors across the street snow-blowed (snow blew?) the part of the driveway that I didn’t finish, and for that I was truly grateful. Halle freaking lujah grateful: I whipped up a plate of “Thanks -for- helping -us- out- even -though- you -won’t -let- our- kids- play- together- because- mine- is- a -heathen- who- reads- Harry -Potter- and- has- seen- representations- of- Renaissance- art” Christmas treats! It was very healing. Hopefully they didn’t notice that the star cookies were pentagrams. . .Come on, you’ve received those gag cookie cutter gifts too.

Finally, I must confess that the snowstorm arrives on the heels of my discovering that I have no snow pants that fit my son.  We had so little snow last year that, when we did try to sled, we had to throw on a couple of layers of sweat pants and race up to the hill before the 40 degree temperatures transformed our sledding adventure into a little mini Tough Mudder. This winter (today), my inadequacy is far more evident.   I have hand-me-downs in the attic, but the next size up will by when he is pushing puberty.  In addition, my holiday investments have left the snow pants budget rather depleted.  Please email if you would like to forward me your gently used outerwear, size 8-10.

 

11 Responses to “Angry Birds Star Wars Jenga: One Game, One Goal”

  1. javaj240 Says:

    If I had size 8-10 outerwear I would be apply to send it your way! When we were kids my father made us sit on trash bags. We never owned snow pants, LOL!

    That game looks like fun!

    • peachyteachy Says:

      I am laughing at the image of you sitting on a trash bag!

      • javaj240 Says:

        Everything my parents did because they lacked either the money or the wherewithal they would refer to as “an old Irish trick”… as in, “Grab a trash bag. It’s an old Irish trick for staying dry.” Seriously. That was my childhood.

      • UndercoverL Says:

        So wait a minute… I have nothing in my front room except a plastic white Christmas tree decorated with ornaments that are worth more than the whole tree. So if I sit on the floor next to the tree and get drunk on Baileys, is that an old Irish trick for having a happy New Year?

      • peachyteachy Says:

        I can’t wait to use this on my kids. > Date: Fri, 28 Dec 2012 15:00:48 +0000 > To: roonez57@msn.com >

  2. mindbender99 Says:

    My 5 Year Old Son would love this…

  3. I don’t have any snowpants either, or I’d send them your way with some witches cookies to go along with the pentagram cookies! I’ve never played that game, they didn’t have it when my boy was young. I also had an incident with a neighbor not letting their kid play with mine because when he was six he told her he didn’t want to come to her bible study because he believed in science, not god. I swear he said that all by himself with no prompting!!

  4. My son is an Angry Bird nut and my husband is a Star Wars nut…we definitely need this game!! We made Christmas cookies with our Millennium Falcon cookie cutter and unicorn cookie cutter….I’m guessing your neighbors wouldn’t have appreciated those either!

  5. peachyteachy Says:

    I like the actual physical game way more than the app, at which I suck.


Leave a Reply

