peachyteachy

For realsies

Inspirational Quotes January 30, 2013

Filed under: education,humor,inspiration,life,teaching — peachyteachy @ 6:13 pm
Tags: , , ,

#1

It is always inspirational to read heartfelt apologies written by students.  Here’s an example of how one student wiped the slate clean:

“Dear Mr. Gym,

I am sorry that I said to go suck one. I promise that I will not say it again.

Signed,

Mr. Sincerity”

Note: “Go suck one” represents approximately 7.6% of the threats of physical harm that were verbalized toward Mr. Gym. But who’s counting?

#2

Sometimes, it is difficult to respond to a student remark.  Case in point:

A sweet-looking six-year-old girl approaches my colleague, who is a lovely young woman in her twenties.

“My brother told me that you are a serial killer.”

 

Please feel free to create wall plaques of these quotes and display them on Pinterest.

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Inspirational Quotes”

  1. Katie Says:

    Most apologies we get aren’t exactly heartfelt. I make my cherubs practice before going back to class….but it doesn’t help AT ALL. Poor teachers.

    • peachyteachy Says:

      I still like to introduce the concept. It shows at least some effort to make things right.

      • Katie Says:

        That’s why I make them practice! I once got a parent complaint, “You made my princess say she was sorry?!” Yeah, lady. It’s a life skill.

      • peachyteachy Says:

        Right. Saying sorry even if you aren’t really that sorry shows some self-discipline. My mom never apologized; it was like if she admitted being wrong it made her less. I have worked hard to model apologizing when I screw up with my kids. It’s good for them and it’s good for me.

  2. Nothing can top the 3rd grader who told me I was a bitch. He prolly grew up to be Chris Brown. LOL


Leave a Reply

