peachyteachy

For realsies

My Special Day, or Where’s the Damn Bubbly? February 3, 2013

Filed under: blogging,humor — peachyteachy @ 7:57 am
Tags: ,

Happy Anniversary!

You registered on WordPress.com 1 years ago!

From an organization that is borderline obsessed with grammar, being congratulated for writing a blog for 1 years was a breath of fresh air. It’s the paper anniversary, yes? I will be expecting the hard copy in this week’s mail.

Apparently, I wrote my first post on Groundhog Day, exactly 1 years ago!

I have written 113 posts (counting this one).

I have amassed a following of 103 readers.  I am fond of saying that my followers could fit inside a Wendy’s.  It’s nice that it’s getting a little crowded in there, so we can move it over to the tire store next to the Wendy’s.  I don’t want anyone to have to go without Frosties.

I have an unofficial handful of readers with whom I would really like to meet and share a beverage, preferably but not necessarily somewhere other than Wendy’s or the tire store.  You regulars, you know who you are, and you are part of my sanity parachute.

I have 14 followers on Twitter.  I try to keep it down around a dozen, just so that THOSE followers can fit inside the bathrooms at Wendy’s. How do I manage those numbers, you wonder? Just by being really, really bad at Twitter.  I am peachyteachy5 in the aviary, which implies that there are 4 previous peachyteachies tweeting and hashing around over there, and that’s a little disconcerting, isn’t it?

Words of Wisdom for a One Year Anniversary:

It ain’t a competition.

To quote a wise woman,

“Attention all parents of elementary school athletes – NCAA Division One college scouts are not at your 5th grader’s basketball game.”

This would imply that you might want to reconsider your statement that you will “Launch a formal protest” about the outcome of your third grader’s “Let’s race boats in a rain gutter by blowing through a straw” competition.  There is no Raingutter Regatta Governing Body–just the poor parent who volunteered to help set up.

When I blog, there is no one scrutinizing me to find out why my students, who have uniformly failed every state test they’ve ever taken in the past, are not showing adequate growth within the new, more difficult, faster-paced curriculum and instruction.

It’s a cool thing to be able to be imperfect and bitchy and unprofessional.

Image: http://apathtomythoughts.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/1-year-blog-anniversary.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

22 Responses to “My Special Day, or Where’s the Damn Bubbly?”

  1. rossmurray1 Says:

    “My followers could fit inside a Wendy’s.” So funny so true.

    Congrats, teach! Blog on!

  2. Amanda Fox Says:

    Congrats on reaching this grammatically incorrect milestone LOL! And yeah, it is nice to just be yourself and not be judged, or marked, or anything…to just be you. I’ll come to Wendy’s for you. 🙂

  3. Katie Says:

    Alas, there is no more bubbly for you to celebrate with– it was all snapped up by rabid Superbowlers. However, I’m sending bubbly thoughts your way on this very momentous occasion, happy to be in the line at Wendy’s and waiting for my frosty.

  4. Congrats on lasting a year! I’m glad I found you inside that Wendy’s bathroom–tho I have never actually ever been in a Wendy’s or a Wendy’s bathroom, so it was a new experience for me! I’ll have a tofuburger…WHAT?

  5. Papizilla Says:

    Congratulations! A year is a long time.

  6. mindbender99 Says:

    Congratulations… Keep it up, I really like reading your blog! 🙂

  7. Congratulations on your 1 year!!! I love your blog and love those Wendy Frosties! I hope there’s always room for me! I’ll remember to always pee before I stop by though…I would hate to have to fight for a stall with all those Twitter followers!

  8. UndercoverL Says:

    Teachers have feelings too. Bitch away, Peachy!


Leave a Reply

