peachyteachy

For realsies

Awaiting Combat Pay February 7, 2013

Filed under: humor,school — peachyteachy @ 8:04 pm
Tags: , , , ,

 

 

People, give me a reality check.

There is an unspoken rule that you don’t throw pencils at your teacher, right?

Well, whatever. Geneva Conventions are lifted in the no-man’s land where I try to teach.

What exactly IS the appropriate response to this situation?

Should the teacher:

A) Use “I” statements to express disappointment at the lack of respect displayed by the student.

B) Assign a higher order thinking question to the class, asking them to describe why someone might choose to whip a pencil across a classroom at one’s teacher, providing details to support their position. Be sure to provide the state rubric to guide their response.

C) Go to one’s desk and put on one’s coat.

D) Start a firestorm of chalk, pens, crayons and don’t stop until they provide a motorcade out of there.

Write-in votes are welcome.

 

14 Responses to “Awaiting Combat Pay”

  1. rebecca2000 Says:

    D. 😉

    You know, A teacher friend of mine told me that there are some suggesting that teachers become combat trained.

  2. Put on your coat and leave! That’s what I did when a stupid idiot savage threw one of those plastic math cubes at me. I called school security, walked to the office, and left. I ain’t taking that crap from nobody. See why I couldn’t stay teaching?

  3. Can you call in the nuns to smack him around with a couple of rulers? I remember that from my grammar school years at Catholic school…

  4. rossmurray1 Says:

    I just came from a bar where my teacher colleagues, who had just sent their students home on a midterm break, were downing shots as fast as they could be poured. And this is a private school.

    Just thought I’d share.

  5. WSW Says:

    For some reason, the expression, “Whip his ass til his nose bleeds buttermilk” comes to mind.

  6. Papizilla Says:

    I agree with the whip his ass comment above. Back in the day when I was in school(damn, was it that long ago?) I had a History Teacher that carried a yard stick. Let’s just say the first person to act out became well acquainted with said yard stick. Then the Teacher grabbed another one out of his closet. Not one more person acted up in class. When the student in question complained to the Principal, we were all questioned and said that we didn’t see anything. No penalty to the Teacher. Mainly because it was really cool and we couldn’t stand the kid anyway.


Leave a Reply

