peachyteachy

For realsies

Bad Moon Rising February 26, 2013

Test Your Knowledge of Urban Education!

WHICH SCENARIO DID NOT HAPPEN ON THIS, THE DAY OF THE FULL MOON?

  1. Did I lock my classroom door today to keep out a disruptive student? Again?
  2. Did the kid proceed to kick the door for about a half hour, rendering me a super effective teacher? Again? 
  3. Did the rest of the class placidly continue with their work, ignoring the distraction, and increasing their stamina for responding to multi-step fraction word problems?

If you picked 1 or 2, you have not been reading my blog for very long, have you? And you missed the nearly identical situation detailed a couple of weeks ago here .  There is little doubt that this blogging strategy will not earn me tons of readers who have fashion blogs (although you are so super welcome!), but I would like to suggest that you picture me, a smallish woman, body blocking an eleven-year-old while wearing a snappy Loft jacket of tiny railroad cap stripes–I wear it in recognition of the fact that my class is, well, a train wreck.  Sporty!

Down the hall, in my colleague’s classroom, I am pretty sure that they were performing a re-enactment of the flying monkey scene from the Wizard of Oz, with one small exception: the flying monkeys in the movie don’t fight EACH OTHER. At the very least, it is reassuring to know that it’s not just me!

It doesn’t occur to us until later, after the crisis has ended and we are at home recovering: what if this kid is angry enough to bring a knife to school? So many of them have demonstrated their absolute willingness to beat the hell out of each other; it’s the main strategy for dealing with the overwhelming threat of another human LOOKING AT THEM. You know that there are weapons unseen on these kids, probably far more often than we want to think about.  Every day is a WTF day.

Good thing I have an invisible and  invincible force field around me at all times.

 

11 Responses to “Bad Moon Rising”

  1. Katie Says:

    I’m so sorry. Full moons make me swear. Often. This kind of thing is so unacceptable to me. Where was your help??? Makes me very sad.

    I spent my day trapped in a room with a student who kept stripping off all of his clothes and trying to punch me in inappropriate places. Freaking full moons. Literally. I swear you just can’t make this stuff up!

    • peachyteachy Says:

      I buzz the office and wait. So many behaviors in our school there are just not enough bodies to deal with them all. Blessings to you.

      • Katie Says:

        I guess we have days like that. But, I don’t recall ever having a teacher wait THAT long. Although, as a teacher I waited and waited and waited…oh well. Frustrating. Blessings to you, trying to be an educator and a warden, all at the same time! Where’s the section for that on the test, I ask ya?

  2. Poor you! Don’t you have security to call? Or the principal? to remove the disruptive student? I’d be all complaining to the union, sheesh. I feel bad for you and now I’m scared for you?

  3. I assume you teach in an urban school? God bless you for teaching! Or trying to anyway.

  4. rossmurray1 Says:

    Oh dear oh dear oh dear oh dear oh dear oh deary dear.

  5. Oh my heart. I had one of those kids. The teacher who had him before me used to have to take all of the other students out of the class because he would refuse to leave and then attack anyone who tried to move him. He was 8. By the time I got him, he was a bit better. It’s scary and there has to be a better way.

    • peachyteachy Says:

      I agree that there are better ways. Not 100% academics all the time, for one thing. There is no recess, no character ed, no time for making community. I do not believe that this is what is best for kids.

  6. I wish we valued teachers–and kids–enough to pay for adequate staffing in schools. This should not be your daily lot.


Leave a Reply

