peachyteachy

For realsies

Healing Wounds March 9, 2013

Filed under: life,music — peachyteachy @ 6:23 pm
Tags: , ,

My job can be mildly-to-unspeakably stressful.

Music helps.   Sometimes I forget to use it, though.  I don’t know why.

Several years ago, I was lucky enough to see an amazing documentary that followed Dave Matthews and Trey Anastasio on a journey to make music with the legendary Orchestra Baobab in Senegal.  It is moving and lovely and full of incredibly different people coming together. The clip I’ve shared here is of the song “So Damn Lucky” from Dave’s “Some Devil.”  I’m not a crazy Dave Matthews fan, but he has made plenty of music that I super love.  This one just   fills me up.

 

5 Responses to “Healing Wounds”

  1. Katie Says:

    I’m sorry you are stressed. It’s agonizing, isn’t it? But music is such a help. I like to listen to it really loud on the way home when I’m really fed up. It’s kinda empowering.

  2. javaj240 Says:

    I, too, saw that documentary. This is a great song! I also saw another Dave Matthews documentary called “Road to the Whiskey” (or something like that). It’s like 4 hours long, LOL, but it’s really good. It’s about the making of their last album following the death of a band member. I’m not a huge fan, so I didn’t know the story, but I really enjoyed the documentary — and I love the album!

    • peachyteachy Says:

      When my little guy was a newborn, “Some Devil” had just come out and “So Damn Lucky” was a song that would calm him as I danced around the living room, doing “the bounce” to soothe him. It’s weird; I think Dave is a huge talent but I’m not crazy about the concert culture there. Will look for that film.

  3. UndercoverL Says:

    Dave Matthews is awesome!

  4. Yes…music can definitely put a whole new spin on your outlook and I can definitely see where you would need that! I love this song too but I have never seen or heard of the documentary. I will have to look for it!


Leave a Reply

