peachyteachy

For realsies

I’m Conflicted About Quinoa April 4, 2013

Filed under: food,humor,politics — peachyteachy @ 10:22 am
Tags: , , ,

[Cara flower image]

Just when you think you’ve found a superfood and have created a quinoa board on Pinterest (those people are obsessed with quinoa), you find out that there is, after all, a dark side to the craze.

Yup, the New York Times reports that the native folks, who have traditionally consumed quinoa as a staple of their diets, are finding quinoa cost-prohibitive due to its popularity with first-world health nuts.  It would seem that poorer children in Bolivia are beginning to prefer noodles and white flour based stuff to the traditional grain, simply because it has become so expensive.

Of course, some are profiting from the quinoa boom, including native farmers.  But now I’m wondering about the effect upon crop diversity.

What’s a girl to do?  Buy US organically grown quinoa? Buy imported quinoa to support agriculture in a third world country? Shrug the shoulders and say, “This is why I don’t eat superfoods?!”

I am going to go out on a limb and make a pledge not to use quinoa in my seed-based art projects.  There.  I am a virtuous global citizen.

Image:  http://www.cropart.com/dcaraanth.dir/gxcara03flower.gif

 

 

14 Responses to “I’m Conflicted About Quinoa”

  1. Amanda Fox Says:

    Just finished eating quinoa porridge. I like it about as much as regular porridge, though it has more protein LOL.

  2. javaj240 Says:

    I should probably not even admit to this, but I have no idea what quinoa is… LOL!

  3. Oh no, what am I going to do? I LOVE quinoa, we eat it all the time. Those poor kids, should we send them some of ours??

  4. Nothing I did saved those Twinkies…I certainly couldn’t save quinoa!

  5. Apparently I got sucked right into the fad and I’ve been making more with quinoa. Had no idea what a fad it had become. Interesting.

  6. speaker7 Says:

    You are a true hero. I’m going to make a portrait of you out of quinoa to show my appreciation…oh wait.


Leave a Reply

