peachyteachy

For realsies

Lettuce Pray April 18, 2013

Filed under: education,humor,teaching,Uncategorized — peachyteachy @ 8:30 pm
Tags: ,

A pre-Common Core blood bath testing reflection. . .

peachyteachy

This is a lettuce garden that is growing in my home.  It lives in a Clementine box.  I love the lettuce garden, but I don’t expect it to be able to read graphs or do 3-digit by 3-digit multiplication, even if I taught it in every way possible, many, many times. I do, on the other hand, expect my classroom students to have more success than salad greens would.

The good news is that, in our urban “failing” school (that’s the affectionate nickname folks like to call it), a few of my students show evidence of these kinds of skills that I have been diligently teaching for months.  But the majority seem to suffer from the “Men In Black” syndrome.  One of my astute colleagues detected this phenomenon as we noticed some of the appalling responses to math questions on the state tests.  It was as if, she noticed, they…

View original post 422 more words

 

Leave a Reply

