peachyteachy

For realsies

Goodbye, Richie Havens April 22, 2013

Filed under: music — peachyteachy @ 8:50 pm
Tags: ,

In the early 90’s, I saw Richie Havens in a small community college auditorium.  I was in the second row, and it was one of the most amazing, powerful musical experiences of my life.  Crazy amazing guitar. Huge spirit.

The news of his passing hits me harder than it should.  But it is what it is.  Just listen.

 

3 Responses to “Goodbye, Richie Havens”

  1. ileneonwords Says:

    I saw Richie in the early 60s and then many times after. He was an inspiration and will be missed.

    • peachyteachy Says:

      Kind of surprised today when folks at work didn’t know who he was. . .He deserved greater recognition, for sure.

      • ileneonwords Says:

        I never had anyone who I could talk to at work about music and I’m 60 years old! I talk to my husband. Unfortunately, my brother died years ago and he knew a lot about music. I’m glad I was able to pass on my love of music to my students and I taught them a lot of Civil Rights and Folk songs. Yes, Richie deserved greater recognition!!!!


Leave a Reply

