peachyteachy

For realsies

Big People/Small People September 21, 2013

Filed under: education,humor,teaching,Uncategorized — peachyteachy @ 7:14 am
Tags: , , ,

I have teleported to a land where people are shorter than me.  Also, they love my jewelry. I know of no better response than to curtsy in the middle of my higher level instruction.

Surprising similarities abound, however, between the youngsters and the older youngsters over whom I wardened previously.

  •  They share a passion for bathing in hand sanitizer.
  •  They want their hands on walls when they walk in the hall—this may have something to do with the hand sanitizer obsession.
  • They go through pencils a la woodchucks chucking wood

Charming stuff:

  • Sweet, darling girls declare their love in heart-encrusted notage on a daily basis. “I love you so so so so so much. Do you have a heart of love?”
  • “Miss Peachy! Miss Peachy! It’s almost Halloween! In the store, I saw bones (skeletons)! Not real ones!”
  • After lunch: “I’m soooooo tired. Can we watch a movie? What about a video?”

They do rival my older classes in the hypochondriac  department, however.  Clearly, I am poised for another banner year in my relationship with the school nurse.  Their necks hurt, their shoulders hurt, their eyes hurt, and lord knows their TUMMIES hurt!  I am filled with gratitude when I recall the day in history that gave rise to this post:  wheelchair . Also, this one: more wheelchairs in education.

Even the full moon wasn’t too bad.  Unless you count the fire drill.  During which half of my class migrated to the first grade line, and almost walked to the corner store.

image: http://teamvfirstgradefun.blogspot.com/2013/06/teacher-love-notes.html

 

10 Responses to “Big People/Small People”

  1. rossmurray1 Says:

    Positive energy and love notes. You deserve this. I hope you have a great year in your new class.

  2. So cute. So funny. But how could miss band-aids? A class of elementary school students uses more band-aids than a downtown hospital. I used to keep them in my desk.

  3. speaker7 Says:

    I also work with the younger set. They’re very free with the compliments.

  4. Katie Says:

    I love that age. They don’t hold grudges. Chew them out ( I mean, redirect, of course) one minute, and the very next minute they are cooing that you are their favoritest teacher ever!

  5. peachyteachy Says:

    I know, it’s not out of the realm of possibility. But I don’t WORRY about it.


Leave a Reply

