peachyteachy

For realsies

Open House Blues…Harmonica September 30, 2013

Filed under: education,fitness,food,humor,life,teaching — peachyteachy @ 9:01 pm
Tags:

 

Tomorrow, the folks at my  workplace will be burning down  opening the house.  This means a twelve hour workday. I still don’t know what I’m going to wear.  I know that there will be a good turnout, because the rumor has been spread about the free hot dogs. I will see members of extended families for the first and only time this school year (barring a free spaghetti dinner).  I won’t be eating the hot dogs, but if you saw what I had the energy to feed my family tonight, you would stop picturing that lovely Caprese platter . That happened during my turn as a balanced human during the summertime.

Here’s how it works on the last day of September: Peachy nearly nods off in the car on the way home, then decides that working out would be a spectacular idea!  I did it, but there were many points during that annoying DVD when I was moments away from either kicking in the non-flat screen or shifting to a lying down meditation.

Once I completed that little foray into masochism, the thought of cooking anything brought me to the verge of tears.  The notion of even opening a CAN was almost more than I could stand.  And I spent $100 at the grocery store yesterday.  A lot of yogurt, fresh meat, and paper products, apparently, because there was NOTHING in the house that would prepare itself.  Never mind that I cooked a full-on turkey dinner and apple crisp yesterday.  I shudder to think of the shape I shall be in by tomorrow evening.  Something must be done to liven things up.

In the interest of this pursuit of vivification, my colleagues and I have decided that we prefer to share our curriculum presentation in mime, with harmonica accompaniment.  I am surrounded, via a strange convergence of musical passions, by a number of virtuoso harmonicasters.

We haven’t run this by the administration yet, but, really, who could have a problem with that? What do you want, a Powerpoint?

 

4 Responses to “Open House Blues…Harmonica”

  1. Suggestion for tomorrow night’s dinner: take out. As a New Yorker, I consider any place within a three block radius of my apartment that has take out home cooking.

  2. Kaufman's Kavalkade Says:

    Rocking the Talking Heads! Keep on Rocking!


Leave a Reply

