peachyteachy

For realsies

Math Mastery November 24, 2013

Filed under: education,humor,teaching — peachyteachy @ 8:17 pm
Tags: , ,

Perhaps you have heard some of the uproar over our latest curriculum dictator, known as Fidel Common Core. Things need to be more “rigorous.” Here’s a second grade example. I was going to include a photo of this student response, but you are going to have to take my word on this one. The photo looks like it was written on one-ply bathroom tissue (incidentally, I cannot recall the last time I referred to toilet paper as “bathroom tissue”).

Assessment question:

Ms. O’Hara has 21 students in her second grade classroom .  All of them have 10 toes and 10 fingers.

a) Write the total number of toes of the students using hundreds, tens and ones.  Explain using words, pictures or numbers.

My kid’s response: 

“The students have 10 toes and fingers because they are a person I now (know) why they have 10 toes and fingers cause they eat food a lot these students are they eat good food. ” In a box in the same space, she wrote 1020.

WTF?  I assure you that I have taught no connection between number of toes and the correlation between that and food.

b) One day, three students are absent.  How many students are in Ms. O’Hara’s class that day? Skip-count to show the number of their toes. Explain using words, pictures or numbers.

Her answer:

“The students all have ten toes and the students have bones on they toes.”

Off to med school.

 

4 Responses to “Math Mastery”

  1. Hell yeah. Did I just take some LSD? Not that I ever have, but IF I had, those would have been my responses.

  2. WSW Says:

    This looks suspiciously like an answer I wrote on my Philosophy final freshman year. Of course there were chemicals involved — with the professor, I mean. He marked it right. Have you considered the possibility that you may have this century’s Sartre in your classroom?


Leave a Reply

