peachyteachy

For realsies

Lennon Wrecked Me for Conservatism December 8, 2013

Filed under: history,music,Uncategorized — peachyteachy @ 5:52 pm
Tags: ,

This day doesn’t pass without a bit of recognition from me.

peachyteachy

Does it count as history that John Lennon was shot on this date in 1980?  It does for me.

I was a bit young to catch the first wave of Beatlemania, so I was not part of any grieving masses at my school that day.  It was as if nobody even knew that something earthshaking had happened, that a huge voice had been silenced.

So Lennon died, and Reagan was elected.  Soon it became so much cooler to care about money than about peace.  Love? Pshaw! The domain of the naïve. I know that people love to hail Reagan as this icon of American-ness, but I always got knots in my stomach when he would speak. I’ve never really gotten over it, although lots of peers have morphed into staunch conservatism.

I’ve had to apply for a couple of forms of public assistance in my adult life.  For a lot of that time…

View original post 298 more words

 

One Response to “Lennon Wrecked Me for Conservatism”

  1. […] Lennon Wrecked Me for Conservatism (peachyteachy.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

