peachyteachy

For realsies

First Week Of School–Peachy Prevails! September 6, 2014

Am I exhausted? Yup.

Am I already playing catch up? Yeah.

Did a student ask me if I was going to give them the money to buy their supplies? Yes, indeed.

It’s been a loooooooooooooooong week.  I lost a couple of dear friends to other assignments.  Teachers get tight. It’s hard to lose close friends and supports in a building.

We have added an hour and a half to the school day.  Buses are late. Little children are so tired. Conversation with a sweet little guy waiting for a bus reveals that he is from Tanzania, then Congo.  They left because it was dangerous. “All these people were coming.   There were things falling from the sky.” Wow.

While I am responsible for “digging deep” into targeted instruction aligned to the Common Core, I consider the challenge of making a kid like this feel safe more crucial.

Today, my kid (my actual kid) forgot that he was on the phone with me when he “put me down” for a minute to check out at the grocery store. It was hilarious; I don’t take this shit personally.  He had been telling me about his “budget-making” adventure. Part of this included a long-term goal of giving 10% to charity. My son has surpassed my virtue. I’m so cool with that.

 

4 Responses to “First Week Of School–Peachy Prevails!”

  1. Geez, I can remember boxes full of scissors to pick from in the 70s. There were even multiple left-handed ones with dark green rubber handles to identify them. To think even worthless scissors would be considered bounty now. (sigh)

  2. Katie Says:

    “Digging deep” should mean fabulous and wonderful things about understanding the curriculum, etc. Howerver, it has become an almost meaningless buzz-phrase that just makes me want to hurl “planning binders” at the wall.


Leave a Reply

