peachyteachy

For realsies

‘Tis Fried Fish Season March 5, 2015

Filed under: education,humor,music,teaching,Uncategorized — peachyteachy @ 8:02 pm
Tags:

I don’t give up special things for Lent, because I have relinquished my sanity, permanently. I figure that should cover it.  Additionally, fish sometimes makes me puke, which is very dramatically Lenten, but a situation I, curiously, strive to avoid.

Today, as I wandered, comatose, around my classroom after the longest instructional day permitted by law, I puzzled over a student name for minutes on end. The best I could discern was that the paper had been generated by my unknown phantom student named “Man Call.”  He’s not on my roster, but that was as close as I could get. There was an identifiable gun in his masterful illustration, which clued me in to the fact that Man Call has an interest in becoming either a police officer or a soldier. The assignment, incidentally, had to do with students making a choice of a “community service worker” that the students might like to be someday.  They were light on veterinarians, heavy on cops and soldiers (one would think that we were under the National Guard and martial law; I think that there has been too much media coverage of our men in uniform removing truckloads of snow from northeastern cities).

I don’t think that Man Call is going to be a police officer.

He is going to become the premier James Brown impersonater in Vegas.

 

2 Responses to “‘Tis Fried Fish Season”

  1. After watching that video I need to pop some Aleve. It’s amazing how he could do that split. Now I’m wondering how many thousands (tens of thousands?) of times he did it in his life? No premier James Brown impersonator could succeed without doing that move … and a lot of fancy footwork, too.


Leave a Reply

