peachyteachy

For realsies

Drinking the Kool Aid of the Cult of Inadequacy March 15, 2015

Filed under: family,humor,inspiration,life — peachyteachy @ 12:32 pm
Tags: , , ,

Everyone likes a good shortcut, I suppose.  In the era of multitasking and inadequacy, I fear that things are getting out of hand. When the hell did Hints from Heloise morph into life hacks? I know that it emerged from the geek world, but if you find  yourself bringing a Magic Eraser® into the shower to multitask/hack in there, you might very well be drinking that Kool Aid®, and chances are that you have been Pinterest-shamed out of ever purchasing that powdery pack of sugar and color again.  Cuz that is not clean food. That is hair dye.

And another thing: the word “hack” brings to my mind images of a saw, used to escape dark and dreary prisons (as opposed to the light and airy prisons where they keep the criminally adequate), 0r something I might find in the bottom of one of my second grade students’ backpacks.

Have you ever clicked on a link to a video of three hundred hacks for apple cider vinegar? No. No, neither have I. All of these opportunities to become better than ever before through the miracle of life hacking have made me feel less together than ever.

That damned eraser displayed no magic, by the way. Kool Aid man, take me away!

 

5 Responses to “Drinking the Kool Aid of the Cult of Inadequacy”

  1. rossmurray1 Says:

    I used to be a hack.

  2. peachyteachy Says:

    A whole ‘nother can of worms, that one!

  3. Totes agree about the magic eraser, nothing magic about it except for the $4 it erased from my bank account lol. Just when I was sad cos dumb tugboat man left for a long time, there’s your post to cheer me up, so thank you! Write more for the next 6 weeks, ok? PS I didn’t know Koolaid was hair dye, where have I been?


Leave a Reply

